Today’s Heart of Texas Builders Association, (HOTBA), has been safeguarding and facilitating the builder's ability to produce affordable new housing in the Central Texas Region for over 50 years.

Our current membership includes area builders and industry-related businesses ranging from financial institutions to craftsmen and plumbing contractors. HOTBA supplies its members with the latest information regarding changes in building regulations, new and pending legislation on state, local and national levels, new building trends and products plus much more.

In addition to providing a monthly meeting, local newsletter and the NAHB publication, HOTBA also sponsors several fundraising events annually: the Home Products Show in February, the Golf Tournament in May and the Parade of Homes in June. The proceeds are used for association operations, political action and building-trade scholarships. 

The Association has built several Habitat for Humanity homes in Waco. In August 2001, President George W. Bush and First Lady Laura Bush joined the team of volunteers to raise a home. Most recently, HOTBA sponsored a Habitat for Humanity home build on Taylor Street.

The Heart of Texas Builders Association headquarters are located in a freestanding building at 621 W. Hwy 6 at the intersection of Hwy. 6 and Sanger Blvd. Our phone number is 776-8701 and fax number is 776-8703. We welcome your inquiries and look forward to being of service to you.

 HOTBA 2014 Officers & Board of Directors 

LuAnne Butler

First Vice President
Woody Butler

Second Vice President
Milton Makowsky

Ron Nelson

Phillip Perkins

Past President
Kent Garbett  

Russ Davis ● Ken Cooper
Mark Kettler ● Mike Stone
Yancy Marteney ● Warren Johnson
Scott Bland


Harry Marak ● Paula Barron-Ambriz
Lynn Pearson ● Bryan Holton
Kathy Moore 

State Directors
Roy Nash ● Patricia Taylor      

State Alternate
Mike Brashears ● Jeff Stubbs 

National Directors
Sherry Wilson ● LuAnne Butler

National Alternates
Larry Dagley ● Kevin Bearden 

Advisory Directors
Randy Childers ● Matt Meadors ● Steve Burton

NAHB Life Directors
M.L. Dickey ● Steve Patrick

TAB Executive Committee
Steve Sorrells

TAB Associate Director Area 6
Penny Dulock

TAB Life Directors
M.L Dickey ● Steve Patrick
Ronnie Lenamon ● Ron McCartney
Phillip Perkins ● Patricia Taylor  

HOTBA Directors
M.L. Dickey ● Jim Bland ● Pat Hambrick
Jimmy Fielding ● Brad Alford ● Roger Wilson ● Woody Butler

 Legislative Liaison
Terry Stevens




621 W. Hwy. 6          254-776-8701          254-776-8703 FAX